Indy 500 Has a New Champ

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) _ Pole-sitter Scott Dixon won the
Indianapolis 500, beating out Vitor Meira (VEE'-tor MEER'-uh) to
the checkered flag by 1.75 seconds.
Meira appeared ready to take the win, but Dixon beat him out of
the pits on the last stop for fuel and stayed in front the final 29
It's the first win for Dixon, who led most of the race.
Marco Andretti was third, and two-time winner Helio Castroneves
(EHL'-ee-oh kas-troh-NEH'-ves) finished fourth.

2008 Scott Dixon
2006 Sam Hornish Jr.
2004 Buddy Rice
1997 Arie Luyendyk
1994 Al Unser Jr.
1991 Rick Mears
1988 Rick Mears
1981 Bobby Unser
1980 Johnny Rutherford
1979 Rick Mears
1976 Johnny Rutherford
1970 Al Unser Sr.
1963 Parnelli Jones
1956 Pat Flaherty
1953 Bill Vukovich
1938 Floyd Roberts
1930 Billy Arnold
1923 Tommy Milton
1922 Jimmy Murphy

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)