FSU's James, McFadden named first team AP All-Americans

Derwin James and Tarvarus McFadden (Courtesy: FSU Athletics)
By  | 

By: WCTV Eyewitness News | AP
August 21, 2017

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WCTV) -- Florida State red shirt sophomore Derwin James and junior Tarvarus McFadden have been named first team All-Americans by the Associated Press.

The complete Associated Press preseason All-America team, chosen by the votes of 51 members of the AP Top 25 media panel, is as follows:

First Team


Quarterback -- Sam Darnold, sophomore, Southern California

Running backs -- Saquon Barkley, junior, Penn State; Derrius Guice, junior, LSU.

Tackles -- Orlando Brown, junior, Oklahoma; Connor Williams, junior, Texas.

Guards -- Quenton Nelson, senior, Notre Dame; Cody O'Connell, senior, Washington State.

Center -- Billy Price, senior, Ohio State.

Tight end -- Mike Gesicki, junior, Penn State.

Wide receivers -- James Washington, senior, Oklahoma State; Christian Kirk, junior, Texas A&M.

All-purpose player -- Quadree Henderson, junior, Pittsburgh.

Kicker -- Daniel Carlson, senior, Auburn.


Ends -- Harold Landry, senior, Boston College; Bradley Chubb, senior, North Carolina State.

Tackles -- Ed Oliver, sophomore, Houston; Dexter Lawrence, sophomore, Clemson.

Linebackers -- Arden Key, junior, LSU; Josey Jewell, senior, Iowa; Azeem Victor, senior, Washington.

Cornerbacks -- Tavarus McFadden, junior, Florida State; Jaire Alexander, junior, Louisville.

Safeties -- Derwin James, junior, Florida State; Minkah Fitzpatrick, junior, Alabama.

Punter -- Mitch Wishnowsky, junior, Utah.

Second Team


Quarterback -- Lamar Jackson, junior, Louisville.

Running backs -- Nick Chubb, senior, Georgia; Bo Scarbrough, junior, Alabama.

Tackles -- Mike McGlinchey, senior, Notre Dame; Jonah Williams, sophomore, Alabama.

Guards -- Will Hernandez, senior, UTEP; Braden Smith, senior, Auburn.

Center -- Frank Ragnow, senior, Arkansas.

Tight end -- Troy Fumagalli, senior, Wisconsin.

Wide receivers -- Calvin Ridley, junior, Alabama; Courtland Sutton, junior, SMU.

All-purpose player -- Jaylen Samuels, senior, North Carolina State.

Kicker -- Eddy Pineiro, sophomore, Florida.


Ends -- Tyquan Lewis, senior, Ohio State; Rashan Gary, sophomore, Michigan.

Tackles -- Christian Wilkins, junior, Clemson; Vita Vea, junior, Washington.

Linebackers -- Micah Kiser, senior, Virginia; Tegray Scales, senior, Indiana; Cameron Smith, junior, Southern California.

Cornerbacks -- Duke Dawson, senior, Florida; Iman Marshall, junior, Southern California.

Safeties -- Quin Blanding, senior, Virginia; Godwin Igewbuike, senior, Northwestern.

Punter -- JK Scott, senior, Alabama.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus