Five Seminoles named to award watch lists

By: Fletcher Keel | WCTV Eyewitness Sports
July 10, 2017

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WCTV) -- Five Florida State Seminoles have been added to the watch list for the Bednarik and Maxwell Awards prior to the 2017 college football season.

Redshirt sophomore defensive back Derwin James was named to both watch lists.

Three players were named to the Bednarik Award watch list, which is awarded to the best defensive player in the country: Redshirt senior linebacker Matthew Thomas, senior defensive tackle Derrick Nnadi and junior defensive back Tarvarus McFadden.

Redshirt sophomore quarterback Deondre Francois was named to the Maxwell Award watch list, which is awarded to the best all-around player in the nation.

In total, 11 ACC players were named to the two watch lists, and FSU was the only school in the conference with multiple players selected.

Charlie Ward was the last Seminole to capture either award, when he won the Maxwell Award in 1993. The award began in 1937.

No Seminole has ever won the Bednarik Award, which began in 1995.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus