Leon County Schools announces finalists for Teacher of the Year

By  | 

By: WCTV Eyewitness News
December 6, 2017

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WCTV) -- Leon County Schools has announced the finalists for the 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year.

The five finalists are:

  • Candace Gautney, Amos P. Godby High School — Testing coordinator/ teacher
  • Melissa Gilliland, W.T. Moore Elementary School — Second grade teacher
  • Sheronda L. Green, Bond Elementary School — Second grade teacher
  • Theresa Lambert, DeSoto Trail Elementary School — Kindergarten teacher
  • Jennifer Powell, Lawton Chiles High School — Economics /government teacher
  • LCS says the finalists were selected by a committee of teachers, administrators, parents and community representatives from a group of 39 candidates.

    The next step for the finalists will be an interview with the selection committee next Tuesday.

    The winner will then be surprised at their school on the morning of Wednesday, December 13.

    Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus