Local investigator wins annual fire service award

By: Alicia Turner
April 10, 2017

(Photo: CFO Atwater's Press Office)

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WCTV) -- On Monday, the Chief Financial Officer and the State Fire Marshal recognized close to a dozen men and women who serve in the fire community, and have excelled in their profession.

One of those people from right here in the capital city-- Brock Dietz. Dietz was recognized as fire investigator of the year. He says he’s been doing this since 2009, and has workedto close hundreds of cases. He told Eyewitness News, it’s a an honor to receive this recognition.

“It's a privilege. I know a lot of investigators who have received this award in the past and its very humbling to be able to have my name mentioned among those," said Dietz.

In addition to tonight’s ceremony, there will be a “Ringing of the Bell" Tuesday at 8:30 a.m. at the Capitol. It will honor firefighters who've died in the line of duty.

This year's award recipients represent fire service organizations across Florida. The winners are:

Darrel Donatto, Fire Chief of the Year - Palm Beach County Fire Rescue
Ryan Gallik, Career Firefighter of the Year & Fire Service Instructor of the Year - St. Cloud Fire Rescue
James "David" Dietz, Forestry Firefighter of the Year - Florida Forest Service; Chipola Forestry Center
Ted Ross, Fire Marshal of the Year - Tice Fire District
Jackie de la Osa, Fire Inspector of the Year - North Collier Fire Control & Rescue District
Keith Tyson, Professional Firefighter of the Year - Vice President of Education Research and Outreach for Florida Cancer Support Network
Brock Dietz, Fire Investigator of the Year - Department of Financial Services' Bureau of Fire and Arson Investigations, Tallahassee Field Office
Earl Gray, Volunteer Firefighter of the Year - Highland Lakes Fire Department
Robert Lemons, Fire and Life Safety Public Educator of the Year - Boca Raton Fire Rescue Services
Fire Academy of the South, Training Center of the Year - Florida State College at Jacksonville

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus