TPD swears in 11 new officers

By  | 

By: Mariel Carbone | WCTV Eyewitness News
January 11, 2019

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WCTV) — The Tallahassee Police Department has welcomed new members to the force.

TPD swore in 11 new officers on Friday, including Brook’Lyne Burns, Christopher Fariello, Michael Franklin, Jeffrey Klein, Alquanique Nelson, Mehgen Peoples, Montika Porter, Craig Taylor, Guy Ward, Justin Wibberley and Margaret Zweydorff.

The new officers called the moment surreal and exciting.

"Between the Police Academy and we've also done our in house training, it's a lot of physical and mental exertion. So for it to actually come to fruition, get the badge and to say, 'I'm officially a police officer,' it's a pretty big step and I'm looking forward to continuing the career,” said Alan Taylor, who received his badge.

Taylor is a former military member and said joining the Tallahassee Police Department allows him an opportunity to continue serving his country.

The added officers are part of an effort to increase public safety in Tallahassee.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus