WCTV wins Station of the Year

Published: May. 9, 2020 at 11:43 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn
By: Julie Montanaro/WCTV

May 9, 2020

TALLAHASSEE, Fla (WCTV) - WCTV won 19 Florida News Awards, including the prestigious “Station of the Year” award, for its 2019 news, weather and sports coverage.

Winners and finalists were announced in a virtual awards program Saturday night. The annual contest now held by the Florida Association of Broadcast Journalists includes entries from radio and television stations in every media market in Florida.

Among television stations in small markets, WCTV won Best Newscast for its coverage of a fiery attack in which a Taco Bell employee was doused with gasoline and set on fire. WCTV won Best Continuing Coverage for its gavel to gavel coverage of the Dan Markel murder trial. WCTV won Best Politics & Government Coverage for its reporting on a Tallahassee corruption probe that led to a trio of federal indictments.

Eight members of the Eyewitness News team also received awards for individual achievement.

Station of the Year Best Newscast Continuing Coverage - Markel murder trial Politics/Government (Station) - FBI Probe Breaking News (Individual) - Katie Kaplan Politics (Individual) - Monica Casey Anchor - Sophia Hernandez Multimedia Journalist - Lanetra Bennett Digital Journalist - Michael Hudak Producer - Emily Middleton
Team Coverage - Hurricane Dorian Light Feature - Jacob Murphey Cultural/Historical Feature - Jacob Murphey Weather Reporting - Charles Roop Sports Feature - Michael Hudak Digital Programming - “Countdown to Kickoff” Anchor - Michael Hudak Producer - Sierra Peele Sportscaster - Ryan Kelly

A full list of all the winners and finalists can be found


Copyright 2020 WCTV. All rights reserved.