Gov. Deal Declares State of Emergency in Flooded Counties

By  | 

By: WCTV Eyewitness News
December 31, 2015

ATLANTA (AP) -- Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal is declaring a state of emergency in five more Georgia counties hard-hit by flooding in recent days.

Deal's executive order issued late Wednesday said excessive rain caused extensive flooding in Gordon, Macon, Towns, Troup and Wilkes counties.

Deal had earlier declared states of emergency in Fannin, Gilmer and Pickens counties, which are being extended to Jan. 7.

More rain moved into Georgia on Wednesday as forecasters warned that another 1 to 2 inches was expected to fall across much of the area by week's end, adding to the deluge that already saturated the state in recent days.

A flood watch on Thursday covered a large part of Georgia and included the cities of Augusta, Americus, LaGrange, Macon and Columbus.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus