FSU's Pressley, McCarty Named To MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

By  | 

Kansas City, Kansas - Florida State defender Toni Pressley and forward Tiffany McCarty were named to the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) Hermann Trophy Watch List as announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) on Wednesday, August 11.

The Seminole duo is among 45 student-athletes from 30 different schools on this year’s watch list including nine from the Atlantic Coast Conference to lead all conferences. The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented to the nation’s top collegiate soccer player on both the women’s and men’s side.

FSU is one of 10 schools to have at least two student-athletes on this year’s watch list joining Boston College (3), Memphis (2), North Carolina (2), Notre Dame (3), Oklahoma State (2), Penn State (2), Portland (3), Stanford (3) and UCLA (3).

“These two individuals are among the top players in the country and they certainly deserve to be recognized with many of the other great players across the nation,” said head coach Mark Krikorian. “It's a sign of respect from folks out there that Florida State has quality players and that these student-athletes are playing at an elite level."

Pressley and McCarty join a growing list of Seminole greats that have been named to the Hermann Trophy Watch List over the years. Florida State has had a student-athlete named to the watch list every year since 2004, while this year marks the fourth time in school history that two student-athletes have been named to the preseason list. In 2004, Leah Gallegos became the first Seminole stand out to make the list. She was then followed by Kelly Rowland (2005), Selin Kuralay (2006), India Trotter (2006) and Sarah Wagenfuhr (2007). Becky Edwards and Amanda DaCosta were both named to the preseason watch list in back-to-back seasons in 2008 and 2009.

In 2007, Mami Yamaguchi became the first Seminole player to claim the top individual honor in women's soccer. She won the Hermann Trophy after leading the country in points (66) and finishing second in goals (24) and assists (18). Yamaguchi played a major role in Florida State's run to the 2007 National Championship game. The Tokyo, Japan native also made school history becoming the first FSU player to be named a finalist for the Hermann Trophy.

McCarty, a MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalist in 2009, is coming off a productive sophomore campaign in which she was named a first team All-American as well as the ACC Offensive Player of the Year. The Laurel, Md., native finished the season as the ACC leader in goals (17) and goals per game (0.68) and second in points with 41. She started all 25 games a season ago registering over 1,800 minutes on the pitch. In just two seasons at Florida State, McCarty is already the all-time career leader in points (31) in ACC contests, while tied for first in goals with 12. She set the single-season record for points in ACC play this past season with 20 on eight goals and four assists. Among FSU’s all-time career leaders, McCarty is tied for fifth in goals (28) and tied for seventh in points (69).

Pressley is also coming off a fabulous sophomore season in which she started all 25 games for Florida State in the backline tallying over 2,300 minutes on the pitch. She led all Seminole defenders with 10 points scoring two goals and six assists establishing season-highs for points and assists while tying a season-high for game-winning goals. The Melbourne, Fla., native finished the season with five more assists than her freshman year total of one. Pressley was part of a defensive unit that opened the season posting three consecutive shutouts for the first time in school history. She was named to the All-ACC second team last year.

Over the last two years, McCarty and Pressley have played an active role with the United States U-20 squad. Both led Team USA to a gold medal finish at the CONCACAF Qualifier in Guatemala back in January of 2010.

Considered the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer, the recipients of the MAC Hermann Trophy are selected by Division I coaches who are current members of the NSCAA. A list of 15 semifinalists will be selected by a coaches committee in late November, with three finalists announced in early December. The three finalists will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., for a news conference on January 7, 2011, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

Other News:

In other related soccer news, Florida State will start the season ranked in the top 10. The NSCAA recently released its preseason poll for the 2010 season and have the Seminoles ranked No. 6. FSU is coming off a season in which they claimed the ACC regular season title and grabbed the No. 1 seed at the ACC Championship for the first time in school history. The Seminoles have reached the NCAA Quarterfinals in each of the last five seasons.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus