TCC Baseball Soars to All-Conference Selections

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (April 27, 2009) – The Panhandle Conference announced its All-Conference Baseball teams and postseason award winners on Monday. As expected, the PC Champion Tallahassee Community College Eagles garnered their share of the hardware.

Leading the way for TCC is a trio who claimed top individual honors. Head coach Mike McLeod was named PC Coach of the Year, Shawn Pleffner took home Player of the Year Honors and Tyler Hibbs was selected Fireman of the Year in a vote conducted by the conference’s five head coaches.

Pleffner and Hibbs, who also earned first-team all-PC honors as an infielder, were joined on the first-team by Austin Taylor. Daniel Bennett, Cory Franklin, Brett Hammaker, Luke Smierciak and Thomas Troelstrup were second-team selections. Trey Blackman, Taylor Everist, Marcus Grimaldi and Tyler Phillips were named honorable mention.

Pleffner (No. 1), Hibbs (No. 3) and Taylor (No. 9) were also voted to the PC’s list of Top Ten Players.

McLeod led the Eagles to their fifth PC Championship in 2009. Next week, he’ll guide TCC into its first appearance in the FCCAA/NJCAA Gulf District Tournament since 2004. TCC finished 14-6 in PC play and 36-14 overall, the 11th season in school history with at least 35 wins. This is McLeod’s fourth PC Coach of the Year Award (1995, 1999, 2004).

Pleffner, a sophomore outfielder from Annapolis, Md., won the PC batting title with a .435 average and also led the conference with 63 RBI. His 11 home runs tied for the conference lead. He is the third player in TCC history to capture PC Player of the Year honors, joining Nick Rogers (2000) and A.J. Johnson (2004).

Hibbs, a freshman from Odenton, Md., earned PC Fireman of the Year honors after posting a 3-3 record, 1.63 ERA and conference-best ten saves. Hibbs is TCC’s fourth Fireman of the Year recipient, joining Todd Cutchins (1996), Darren Newlin (2002) and Brent Marsh (2003).

When Hibbs wasn’t on the mound, he was busy working on a .363 batting average as the Eagles’ everyday shortstop. He led the PC with 73 hits and added seven home runs and 46 RBI.

Taylor, a sophomore from Thomasville, Ga., batted .326 with four home runs, 49 RBI and 15 stolen bases in 50 games as TCC’s starting second baseman.

Bennett, a sophomore pitcher from Tallahassee, Fla., and last year’s second-team PC Fireman of the Year, thrived again in 2009, this time in a set-up role. In 26 appearances, he posted a 4-1 record, two saves and 2.50 ERA.

Franklin, a freshman catcher from Jacksonville, Fla., batted .304 with four home runs and 20 RBI in 34 games.

Hammaker, a sophomore pitcher from Tallahassee, Fla., led the Eagles’ pitching staff in 2009 with seven wins (7-0) while posting a 3.67 ERA. He also recorded two saves.

Smierciak, a sophomore outfielder from Gainesville, Fla., batted .318 with five home runs and 33 RBI in 46 games.

Troelstrup, a freshman first baseman from Tallahassee, Fla., batted .362 with six home runs and 34 RBI in 40 games.

Blackman, a freshman catcher from Orlando, Fla., batted .350 with one home run and 19 RBI in 32 games.

Everist, a sophomore pitcher from Apopka, Fla., posted a 3-2 record in 17 appearances as both a starter and reliever.

Grimaldi, a freshman infielder from Johns Creek, Ga., batted .299 with 14 RBI in 39 games.

Phillips, a sophomore infielder from Niceville, Fla., batted .323 with 14 RBI in 41 games.

TCC will open play in the FCCAA/NJCAA Gulf District Tournament in Winter Haven, Fla., at 1 p.m., Friday, May 8 against the Runners-up from the Southern Conference.

2009 Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference Baseball Team


Infielders: Saxon Butler, Pensacola; Tyler Hibbs, Tallahassee; Austin Taylor, Tallahassee; Mark Ellis, Chipola; Jake Rogers, Chipola.

Outfielders: Shawn Pleffner, Tallahassee; Marc Bourgeois, Chipola; Bryce Lane, Gulf Coast; Bear Comer, Pensacola.

Catchers: Edmond Sparks, Chipola; Eddie Cassidy, Gulf Coast.

Designated Hitter: Cameron Graves, Gulf Coast.

Pitchers: Andrew Morris, Gulf Coast; Keegan Linza, Northwest Florida State; Patrick Corbin, Chipola; Joey Delgado, Pensacola.

Coach of the Year: Mike McLeod, Tallahassee

Player of the Year: Shawn Pleffner, Tallahassee

Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Morris, Gulf Coast

Fireman of the Year: Tyler Hibbs, Tallahassee

Defensive Player of the Year: Bear Comer, Pensacola

Buddy Kisner Award: Marc Bourgeois, Chipola

Top Ten Players

Shawn Pleffner, Tallahassee
Andrew Morris, Gulf Coast
Tyler Hibbs, Tallahassee
Patrick Corbin, Chipola
Saxon Butler, Pensacola
Marc Bourgeois, Chipola
Bryce Lane, Gulf Coast
Mark Ellis, Chipola
Austin Taylor, Tallahassee
Keegan Linza, Northwest Florida State


Infielders: Tyson Workman, Pensacola; Thomas Troelstrup, Tallahassee; Justin Marrero, Northwest Florida State; Shotaro Soga, Northwest Florida State; Andy Fermin, Chipola.

Outfielders: Luke Smierciak, Tallahassee; Joey Rapp, Chipola; Justin Fradejas, Northwest Florida State; Creede Simpson, Northwest Florida State.

Catchers: Robert Beary, Pensacola; Cory Franklin, Tallahassee.

Designated Hitter: Sam Mahoney, Northwest Florida State.

Pitchers: Cam Greathouse, Gulf Coast; Brett Hammaker, Tallahassee; Daniel Bennett, Tallahassee; Charles Basford, Pensacola; J.B. Johnson, Chipola.

Fireman of the Year: J.B. Johnson, Chipola.

Honorable Mention

Chipola: Blake Newalu, Daniel Renfroe, Dayne Read, Jason Townsend

Gulf Coast: Whitt Dorsey, Kyle Mitchell

Northwest Florida State: Stephen Clarke, Brant Hamilton

Pensacola: Steven Groves, Joshua McDormann, Josh Reed

Tallahassee: Trey Blackman, Taylor Everist, Marcus Grimaldi, Tyler Phillips

For further information, visit:

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus