UF's Reidel Anthony Named To 2009 SEC Football Legends Class

Birmingham, AL - The Southeastern Conference announced on Tuesday
that former Gator wide receiver Reidel Anthony is part of the 2009 SEC
Football Legends Class. The Legends will be honored at this year’s SEC
“Weekend of Champions,” which culminates with the SEC Football
Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 5, at the Georgia Dome.

Anthony was a three-year letterwinner for the Gators from 1994-96,
earning first-team All-America and All-SEC mention in 1996 when Florida
claimed its first national title. He was also one of three finalists for
the 1996 Biletnikoff Award, when he caught 72 passes for 1,293 yards and his 18 touchdown receptions led the nation. During his collegiate career, Anthony had 126 catches for 2,274 yards (18.0 avg.) and added 56 rushing, 358 punt return and 812 kickoff return yards.

His career TD/catch ratio of 4.85 (26 TDs/126 catches) is fifth-best in
school history. Anthony’s 26 touchdown catches are the third-best in
SEC history, while his 2,274 receiving yards ranks second in the UF
record books and his 126 catches is tied for seventh in school history.
He holds two of the top five single-game receiving yardage performances in school history (193 yards vs. Florida State & 189 yards vs. Arkansas, both during the 1996 campaign).

Chosen by Tampa Bay with the 16th overall pick in the 1997 NFL Draft,
Anthony enjoyed a five-year career with the Buccaneers in which he
totaled 144 receptions for 1,846 yards and 16 touchdowns. The 2009
Legends Class also includes Antonio Langham (Alabama), Gary Anderson (Arkansas), Quentin Riggins (Auburn), Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia), Jim Kovach (Kentucky), Michael Brooks (LSU), Jimmy Lear (Ole Miss), Billy Stacy (Mississippi State), Tommy Suggs (South Carolina), Heath Shuler (Tennessee) and Jamie Duncan (Vanderbilt).

1994 – Neal Anderson, Running Back, 1982-85
1995 – Jack Youngblood, Defensive End, 1966, 1969-70
1996 – Nat Moore, Running Back, 1972-73
1997 – Carlos Alvarez, Wide Receiver, 1969-71
1998 – Glenn Cameron, Linebacker, 1972-74
1999 – Kerwin Bell, Quarterback, 1984-87
2000 – John Reaves, Quarterback, 1969-71
2001 – Huey Richardson, Defensive End, 1987-90
2002 – Brad Culpepper, Defensive Tackle, 1988-91
2003 – Larry Smith, Running Back, 1966-68
2004 – Lomas Brown, Offensive Tackle, 1981-84
2005 – Trace Armstrong, Defensive Lineman, 1988
2006 – Louis Oliver, Defensive Back, 1985-88
2007 – Ralph Ortega, Linebacker, 1972-74
2008 – Errict Rhett, Running Back, 1991-93
2009 – Reidel Anthony, Wide Receiver, 1994-96

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus