Jeff Owens Named To AFCA Good Works Team

Athens, GA - Georgia's Jeff Owens has been named to the 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, Allstate Insurance and the American Football Coaches Association announced on Tuesday. Owens, a senior defensive tackle from Sunrise, Fla., is one of just 11 players in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (I-A) to receive the honor.

"I'm very proud of Jeff," head coach Mark Richt said. "There are only 11
(FBS) players in the country who receive that honor, and it's wonderful that Jeffrey is one of them. I've always been impressed with Jeff's sense of community. I know that's something he takes great pride in. It's tremendous for others to see that in him as well. He's a great representative of our football program and the University of Georgia, and he's someone everyone in the Bulldog Nation should be proud of."

Owens is Georgia's nation-leading 12th Good Works honoree since the team's inception in 1992. St. Thomas (Minn.) also has had a dozen players chosen.

Highlights of Owens' community service efforts include volunteering for
Habitat for Humanity, the Boys & Girls Club of Athens, the SEC Together We Can Food Drive and HERO for a Day. He also has visited Camp Sunshine, Egleston Children's Hosptial and St. Mary's Hospital and has taken part in numerous additional service projects with his fraternity, Phi Beta Sigma.

³These 11 FBS student-athletes represent thousands of college football
players who make a difference in their communities through volunteer service on campus and in their hometowns,² said AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff. ³We¹re proud to join Allstate in recognizing these young people who are dedicated to improving the world in which we live.²

In order to meet the criteria set forth by Allstate and AFCA, each player
must be actively involved and committed to working with a charitable
organization, service group or community service while maintaining good academic standing. Candidates must also display sincere concern and reliability, while also having made a favorable impression on the
organizations with which they are involved. Neither athletic ability nor
on-the-field achievements are among the selection criteria.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams were established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field. AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need. Allstate partnered to present the award starting with the 2008 season.

In addition to Owens, the following players rounded out the 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Teams for FBS: Xavier Dye, Jr., WR, Clemson from Greenwood, S.C.; Tim Tebow, Sr., QB, Florida from Jacksonville, Fla.; Jammie Kirlew, Sr., DL, Indiana from Orlando, Fla.; Darrell Stuckey, Sr., DB, Kansas from Kansas City, Kan.; Zoltan Mesko, Sr., P, Michigan from Twinsburg, Ohio; Andrew Brewer, Sr., WR, Northwestern from Tulsa, Okla.; Taylor Kavanaugh, Sr., WR, Oregon St. from Portland, Ore.; Travis Jones, Sr., LB, San Jose St. from Atascadero, Calif.; Derrick Coleman, So., RB, UCLA from
Fullerton, Calif.; and Chris Maragos, Sr., DB, Wisconsin from Racine, Wis.

Georgia's previous 11 Good Works honorees are Alex Millen in 1992; Travis Jones in 1993; Brian Smith in 1995; Matt Stinchcomb in 1997 and 1998; Brett Millican in 2000; Jon Stinchcomb in 2001; David Greene in 2003; D.J. Shockley in 2005; Quentin Moses in 2006; and Kelin Johnson in 2007.

The Southeastern Conference leads all conferences with 52 all-time
selections to the Good Works Teams, followed by the Big 12 with 36
selections and the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference with 22

Allstate assembled a high-profile voting panel made up of previous Good Works Team members, including former Georgia lineman Matt Stinchcomb, as well as prominent college football media personalities, including ESPN¹s Lou Holtz and Kirk Herbstreit and CBSSports.com¹s Dennis Dodd, to elect this year¹s team. Also a part of the selection committee were current AFCA president and San Jose State University head coach Dick Tomey, 1996 AFCA president and former head coach at the U.S. Air Force Academy Fisher DeBerry and Allstate vice president Guy Hill.

³Allstate has been inspired by the commitment and sacrifice these
student-athletes have made to better our communities and improve the lives of our neighbors,² said Lisa Cochrane, vice president of marketing for Allstate. ³As a proud partner of the AFCA, we feel that it¹s our
responsibility to shine a spotlight on these young men for the outstanding impact they¹ve made off the field.²

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus