Urban Meyer Named To Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Watch List

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – University of Florida head coach Urban Meyer was
named to the Bryant Watch List for the 2009 College Football Coach of
the Year as announced by the Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards committee of
the American Heart Association on Monday. The selection committee
consists of current and past event chairmen, Bryant family
representatives, National Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association
representatives, college football sports analysts and former collegiate
players and coaches.

Bryant College Football Coach of the Year finalists will be announced
later in December and attend an awards dinner in Houston on Jan. 14,
2010. The winner will be announced live that evening. The winner of the
Bryant College Football Coach of the Year is voted on by members of the
National Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association and is the only
college coaching award voted on after all bowl games are played.

January’s event will also recognize The University of Georgia’s
legendary coach and athletic director, Vince Dooley, as the Bryant
Lifetime Achievement Recipient. This award recognizes excellence in
coaching on and off the field during a career, allowing recipients to
take their place in history alongside legends such as Bryant.

Bryant College Coach of the Year Watch List
Robb Akey – University of Idaho
Mack Brown – University of Texas
Pete Carroll – University of Southern California
Kirk Ferentz – University of Iowa
Al Golden – Temple University
Mike Gundy – Oklahoma State University
Paul Johnson – Georgia Institute of Technology
Brian Kelly – University of Cincinnati
Chip Kelly – University of Oregon
Bronco Mendenhall – Brigham Young University
Urban Meyer – University of Florida
Les Miles – Louisiana State University
Joe Paterno – Penn State University
Gary Patterson – Texas Christian University
Chris Petersen – Boise State University
Nick Saban – University of Alabama
Randy Shannon – University of Miami
Bill Stewart – West Virginia University
Kevin Sumlin – University of Houston
Dave Wannstedt – University of Pittsburgh

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus