UF’s Chas Henry Named a Candidate for the 2009 Ray Guy Award

Augusta, GA - University of Florida junior punter Chas Henry (Dallas,
Ga.) was named a candidate for the 2009 Ray Guy Award, announced
Thursday by The Augusta Sports Council. The award is given annually to the nation’s top collegiate punter. The list will be narrowed to ten
semi-finalists that will be named on November 13.

Henry and the Gators have yet to allow any punt return yardage in 2009, one of only two teams in the nation to accomplish this feat. The
preseason All-SEC First-Team punter, Henry set a season-high with 173 yards on four punts (43.2 avg.) last weekend at Mississippi State. Of his 18 punts on the season, 16 have not been returned and seven have ended up inside the 20-yard line.

Following the semi-finalists announcement, a national body of Football
Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media
representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the
top three finalists, and ultimately the winner. The winner will be
announced live during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing on ESPN December 10.

2009 Ray Guy Award Candidates List
Delbert Alvarado, Senior, South Florida
Bryan Anger, Sophomore, California
Ben Armer, Sophomore, Western Michigan
Jeremy Boone, Senior, Penn State
Brent Bowden, Senior, VA Tech
Mike Brandtner, Senior, Iowa State
Drew Butler, Sophomore, Georgia
Peter Caldwell, Junior, Utah State
Desi Cullen, Senior, Connecticut
David Defatta, Senior, Middle Tennessee
Kyle Delahooke, Junior, Navy
Matt DiLallo, Senior, Colorado
Matt Dodge, Senior, East Carolina
Ryan Donahue, Junior, Iowa
Clinton Durst, Senior, Auburn
Derek Epperson, Junior, Baylor
P.J. Fitzgerald, Senior, Alabama
Reid Forrest, Junior, Washington State
Will Goggans, Sophomore, Troy
Mickey Groody, Sophomore, Florida Atlantic
Trevor Hankins, Junior, Arizona State
Jake Harry, Missouri, Senior
Johnny Hekker, Sophomore, Oregon State
Alex Henery, Junior, Nebraska
Chas Henry, Junior, Florida
Kevin Jones, Junior, Duke
Scott Kozlowski, Senior, West Virginia
Spencer Lanning, Junior, South Carolina
Jeff Locke, Freshman, UCLA
Rob Long, Junior, Syracuse
Kyle Martens, Sophomore, Rice
Zoltan Mesko, Senior, Michigan
Brad Nortman, Sophomore, Wisconsin
Matt Reagan, Senior, Memphis
Alonso Rojas, Junior, Kansas
Quinn Sharp, Freshman, Oklahoma State
Brian Stahovich, Sophomore, San Diego State
Michael Such, Junior, Tulsa
Chris Summers, Senior, Purdue
Matt Szymanski, Junior, SMU
Ross Thevenot, Senior, Tulane
Kyle Watson, Senior, UNLV

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus