2009 All-ACC Volleyball Team Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) - Florida State senior middle blocker Brianna Barry was selected as the 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference Volleyball Player of the Year in a vote of the head coaches to headline the 2009 All-ACC Volleyball team, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford. Barry is joined by Clemson senior Defensive Player of the Year Didem Ege, Georgia Tech Freshman of the Year Monique Mead, and Coach of the Year Chris Poole of Florida State as this year's individual award winners.

Barry, a native of Winter Springs, Fla., helped lead the Seminoles to their first-ever regular-season ACC Championship by hitting a league-best .510, the second-highest mark in the nation. In 103 sets played, Barry connected on 265 kills for a 2.57 kills per set average, which ranks second on team, and committed just 37 errors in 447 attacks. She is also second among Seminoles with 102 blocks, including a team-high 19 solo rejections, and a 0.99 blocks per set average. Barry hit above the .300 clip in all but two of FSU's 30 matches this season, including 24 matches above the .400 mark, 16 matches above .500, 10 above .600, seven above .700, two above .800, and a perfect 1.000 in a 3-0 win at Boston College (Oct. 18), in which she connected for seven kills in seven attacks.

Ege, a three-time All-ACC defensive specialist in 2009 and native of Istanbul, Turkey, became the league's all-time leader in digs earlier this season and now stands at 2,291 saves. In 469 sets played, Ege currently is the ACC's career leader with 4.88 digs per set, with at least one game left on her ledger in the 2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship. Ege currently leads the league with 595 digs and ranks second with a 4.88 digs per set average, on par with her career average. Offensively, she has 42 assists and 20 service aces. In 32 matches this season, Ege has tallied 20 digs on 11 occasions, including a career-best 36 in a 3-2 win against Furman (Sept. 19) at the Clemson Classic.

Mead, an All-ACC honoree, in addition to earning Freshman of the Year accolades, led all first-year players and currently sits seventh in the ACC with 3.04 kills per set and recorded a team-high nine double-doubles in 2009. Mead is second on the team with 344 kills in 113 sets played, and added 56 assists and 30 service aces offensively. Additionally, she helped the Yellow Jacket defense by ranking second with both 217 digs (1.92 digs per set) and 86 blocks (0.76) blocks pet set.

Florida State second-year head coach Chris Poole was selected by a vote of the head coaches as the 2009 Coach of the Year after guiding the currently 14th-ranked Seminoles (American Volleyball Coaches Association) to a 28-2 overall record and a 19-1 slate in league play for the school's first-ever regular-season conference championship and a program record 16-match conference winning streak. After taking over the Seminole program prior to the 2008 season, Poole brought a program that went 16-14 in 2007 to a 21-9 mark in 2008, and a 28-2 slate in 2009, a 12-match turnaround in just two seasons. Poole is looking to become the 16th active coach in Division I to earn 600 career wins in Florida State's 2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship first-round match against Alabama A&M on December 5 at 5 p.m.

Both Clemson and Florida State led all league teams with four selections apiece to the All-ACC team. Duke and Georgia Tech followed with three picks each, including Blue Devil senior outside hitter Rachael Moss, who became a four-time All-ACC honoree in 2009 and was selected as a first-team College Sports Information Directors of America/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America earlier this season. Miami placed two individuals on the All-ACC team, while Virginia and Virginia Tech had one honoree each.

Named to the 2009 ACC All-Freshman team were Clemson middle hitters Sandra Adeleye and Alexa Rand, Duke middle blocker Christiana Gray, Florida State outside hitter Fatma Yildirim, Virginia Tech middle blocker Cara Baarendse, and Mead.

While 2009 ACC volleyball season has ended, play continues for five teams--conference champion Florida State and at-large berth selections Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech and Miami--at the 2009 NCAA Volleyball Championship.

2009 All-ACC Volleyball Team
Name Yr. Pos. School
Sandra Adeleye Fr. MH Clemson
Didem Ege Sr. DS Clemson
Kelsey Murphy Sr. S Clemson
Lia Proctor Sr. OH Clemson
Becci Burling Jr. MB Duke
Kellie Catanach So. S Duke
Rachael Moss Sr. OH Duke
Brianna Barry Sr. MB Florida State
Mira Djuric Sr. OH Florida State
Rachael Morgan So. OH Florida State
Jordana Price Sr. MB Florida State
Chrissy DeMichelis Sr. OH Georgia Tech
Monique Mead Fr. OH Georgia Tech
Mary Ashley Tippins Jr. S Georgia Tech
Lane Carico So. OH Miami
Cassie Loessberg Sr. DS Miami
Simone Asque So. OH Virginia
Felicia Willoughby Jr. MB Virginia Tech
Player of the Year: Brianna Barry, Sr., MB, Florida State
Defensive Player of the Year: Didem Ege, Sr., DS, Clemson
Coach of the Year: Chris Poole, Florida State

2009 ACC All-Freshman Volleyball Team
Name Pos. School
Sandra Adeleye MH Clemson
Alexa Rand MH Clemson
Christiana Gray MB Duke
Fatma Yildirim OH Florida State
Monique Mead OH Georgia Tech
Cara Baarendse MB Virginia Tech
Freshman of the Year: Monique Mead, OH, Georgia Tech

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus