Lebioda Named ACC Player of the Year for Men’s Golf

By  | 

– Florida State Men’s Golf senior Hank Lebioda has earned the ACC Player of the Year honor, announced on Thursday morning by the conference.

The talented lefty from Winter Springs, Fla., becomes the third Seminole to win ACC Player of the Year since the award was first given out in 1992 to Georgia Tech’s David Duval. Lebioda joins former Seminoles Bobby Cochran (1994) and Brooks Koepka (2010 and 2012) as winners of the award.

Lebioda, who is a semifinalist for the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, joins teammate Cristobal Del Solar on the All-ACC Team. Lebioda has earned a spot on the All-ACC Team in all four seasons at FSU, and the Seminoles’ two selections marks the 10th consecutive year the program has had multiple All-ACC picks.

Lebioda began his FSU career with ACC Freshman of the Year honors in 2013, and fittingly caps his time in Tallahassee with the ACC Player of the Year award. He is the 10th ACC Golfer to win both awards, and the second Seminole as Koepka was named freshman of the year in 2009 followed by his two player of the year awards.

“Not many people start their career as ACC Freshman of the Year and then complete it as ACC Player of the Year,” FSU head coach Trey Jones said. “The fact that Hank was able to do this speaks to his natural talent, consistency and hard work. It’s exciting to see his hard work and effort pay off in being voted to such a prestigious award. If you look at past ACC Player of the Year Award winners he is in an elite group of outstanding players.”

The All-ACC Team, Player, and Freshman of the Year were decided by a combination of the Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin rankings in conjunction with a vote of the league’s 12 head coaches.

“It really is an honor to be named ACC Player of the Year,” Lebioda said. “It’s something that we all work for, not only to be the best player on our team but in our conference. To be able to represent the ACC as their number one player is really humbling. I can’t thank my coaches and teammates enough for helping me develop into the man and player I am today.”

Lebioda finished the regular season ranked No. 18 in the country according to Golfstat and No. 17 in Golfweek’s rankings. He had a scoring average of 70.87 in 30 rounds and posted four top-10 finishes this season, including a win at the Seminole Intercollegiate.

The senior leader owns Top 5 career marks at FSU in average score (third – 71.46), rounds at par or better (first – 74), birdies (second – 447) and rounds played (fifth – 131). This season, he leads the Seminoles in average score (70.87), final round average (70.90), par 4 scoring (4.00), par 5 scoring (4.71), birdies (107) and subpar strokes per round (3.63).

In his senior season, Lebioda was named a Ben Hogan Award Watch List candidate and was in contention to play at the 2016 Arnold Palmer Cup. He leads the Seminoles into next week’s NCAA Regional in Kohler, Wis., from May 16-18.

Following the season, Lebioda will attempt to earn his pro card. He will first play on the Mackenzie Tour, part of the PGA Tour in Canada.

Del Solar, who hails from Chile, has put together his best season at Florida State. He has an average score of 71.67 in 27 rounds of play, showing a 0.56 scoring average vs. par. He has totaled 14 rounds at par or better, including seven rounds in the 60s. Del Solar owns a Top 10 finish at the SunTrust Gator Invitational, shooting a three-day score of 205 which includes a pair of 67s in the first two rounds.

Del Solar’s addition to the All-ACC Team gives the Seminoles 27 all-time selections. The redshirt junior will attempt to qualify for the U.S. Open in June at the sectional qualifier, leaving him 36 holes left to play. He won last week’s opening qualifier in Amelia Island.

Player of the Year
Hank Lebioda, Florida State

Freshman of the Year
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson

Coach of the Year
Larry Penley, Clemson

2015-16 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
Stephen Behr, Clemson
Austin Langdale, Clemson
Carson Young, Clemson
Bryson Nimmer, Clemson
Adam Wood, Duke
Hank Lebioda, Florida State
Cristobal Del Solar, Florida State
Robin Sciot-Siegrist, Louisville
Carter Jenkins, North Carolina
Derek Bard, Virginia
Jimmy Stanger, Virginia
Will Zalatoris, Wake Forest