Izzo Named to Mackey Award Watch List

By  | 

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State redshirt sophomore tight end Ryan Izzo was named to the 2016 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List on Wednesday.

The Mackey Award is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The winner will be announced on Dec. 7 and the award will be presented live on Dec. 8 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

Izzo was an integral part of the Seminoles’ offense in his first season on the field in 2015, tallying 14 receptions for 210 yards and two touchdowns while starting 11 games.

The Highland Lakes, N.J., native scored touchdowns against Texas State and Louisville and capped the season with a 33-yard catch and run against Houston in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

Izzo was vital to an offense that averaged 31.7 points and 424 total yards per game in 2015. His blocking ability also helped open holes for Dalvin Cook to set new school records for rushing yards (1,691) and all-purpose yards (1,935). The Seminoles finished with their fourth consecutive BCS/”New Year’s Six” Bowl and 10-win season.

Izzo will look to join former Seminole tight end Nick O’Leary as Mackey Award winners. O’Leary capture the honor in 2014 after leaving Florida State as the career leader in receptions, receiving yards and touchdowns for a tight end.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first president of the NFLPA. More information can be found at www.johnmackeyaward.com.