Rod Johnson Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

By  | 

DALLAS – Florida State junior left tackle Rod Johnson was named to the 2016 Outland Trophy Watch List on Friday.

The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s top interior lineman.

After a standout 2015 season, Johnson grabbed the Jacobs Blocking Trophy, which is given annually to the ACC’s top offensive lineman, and also collected All-ACC first team honors and All-America second team accolades from USA Today and The Sporting News as Florida State finished 10-3 and advanced to the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl – its fourth-consecutive BCS/”Power Five” Bowl appearance.

The Florissant, Mo., native paved the way for an offense that averaged 31.7 points and 424.0 total yards per game and featured All-American running back Dalvin Cook, who set school records for rushing yards (1,691) and all-purpose yards (1,935).

Johnson posted the highest grade by a Seminole offensive linemen in five games and was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week on Sept. 14 after Cook rushed for 266 yards and three touchdowns in a 34-14 victory over USF.

It’s the second straight year Johnson has been named to the Outland Trophy Watch List.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Thurs., Nov. 17. Five days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 71st Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century – will be announced live on ESPN at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 8. For the second straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.